St. Louis: Gateway to My Return to Blogging

I travel quite a bit for work, and I love getting the chance to see a city I’ve never been to before. I’ve been in St. Louis for 8 days, and I have to say, I’m not that jazzed about it.

Author’s note 2/16/17: Enjoy one of my “vintage” posts, from the time when I thought I’d start a beer blog but I never really wrote anything. I didn’t have the heart to use the WordPress “Start Over” feature and lose these little time capsules from when I was husbandless and childless and wish now I could tell myself to stop drinking so much beer because post-baby me would have so much trouble losing that beer pooch.

I stayed downtown right by the convention center, and was completely underwhelmed by the nighttime activity. The city is dead in many ways, from the quiet streets to the empty buildings to the general level of lethargy with which many of the city’s residents move. My hopes for culinary adventure were dashed time and again as I sat through one disappointing meal after another. The Italian restaurants (even one in the famed “The Hill” neighborhood) were a big letdown. I should have anticipated that the food wouldn’t meet my expectations as a denizen of the Italian-saturated northeast. Even the brewery my group went to was nothing to write home about (who screws up a brew pub?). Finally on my last day here, hours before my flight, St. Louis delivered.

After a morning of admiring the famed Arch and the old courthouse I spent a delightful 90 minutes at Schlafly Tap Room, a St. Louis establishment since 1991. The mile walk from the hotel to the brewery was extremely random: rehab clinics and homeless shelters peppered architecturally rich yet broken down city blocks, and lush patches of grass occupied empty lots. It was interesting enough that I stopped to snap a few photos, but not so much that I wanted to walk back in the 80-something April heat (the $10 cab ride was totally worth it). I grabbed a small table in the Tap Room’s main dining room and quickly ordered a flight featuring 6 selections from their 18 draft options. You can read my more detailed review here on Yelp: http://bit.ly/I5V699.

After buying a souvenir growler (empty, since trying to down a half gallon of beer hours before my flight would effectively ensure that I would not be able to board said flight), I cabbed it back to the hotel. Leaving my bags with the bellman, I left for the safest bar option, The Dubliner across the street. A mildly disappointing Deschutes Mirror Pond Pale Ale (not hoppy enough) was followed by a delightful 4 Hands pale ale (plenty hoppy- and local, to boot!). Time now to close up my tab and head back to the hotel for my airport shuttle. Apparently my flight is already delayed a half hour. Looks like I’ll get to sample more local favorites at the airport bar!

20120425-160531.jpg

20120425-160704.jpg

20120425-160722.jpg

20120425-160826.jpg

One thought on “St. Louis: Gateway to My Return to Blogging

Leave a Reply

